BOOK NOW
Player Reviews 2018-02-02T13:33:33+00:00

Our Steamboat Springs Escape Rooms have hundreds of 5 Star Ratings!

Thanks to everyone who has left us a review! We’re glad you had fun at The Crooked Key!

TripAdvisor Reviews
Yelp Reviews
Google Reviews
Facebook Reviews
Ray Tierney
Ray Tierney
2018-02-18T17:24:28+0000
What a rush! I spent the week in Steamboat heli-skiing and snowmobiling but the Crooked Key was still the most exhilarating thing I did. If you like problem solving, insanely intricate room design, and maybe even getting a little scared... the the Crooked Key is for you! Manager Rob was very peppy and really got us into the spooky world of Edgar Allen Poe in the Taphophobia Room! Five Stars
Alex Drakos
Alex Drakos
2018-02-17T21:36:17+0000
Allison Naval
Allison Naval
2018-02-09T02:25:06+0000
David Weston Russell
David Weston Russell
2018-02-09T02:24:17+0000
Marta Oliveira
Marta Oliveira
2018-02-08T03:19:23+0000
Great fun! The staff was very helpful and will give you as many hints as you like! Poe’s dream was very well planned and required critical thinking and team work. Great for groups. Family oriented.
Patty Oakland
Patty Oakland
2018-02-04T17:49:10+0000
Taphophobia was incredible! It was almost sad when it was over! You can tell the passion, excitement, and so much hard work that went into it. You have no idea what is going to happen next!!
Andrea Hanley
Andrea Hanley
2018-02-04T14:34:48+0000
We had such a great time in Taphophobia and constantly felt the excitement about finding the next clue to get out in time! The set of the scene and interactive technology is second to none! Great experience!
Kubo Kordisch
Kubo Kordisch
2018-02-03T03:17:10+0000
The Edgar Allan Poe room was pretty challenging, but very smart and enjoyable!!
Marlissa Hendrix
Marlissa Hendrix
2018-01-30T03:44:44+0000
Heather Fuhrman
Heather Fuhrman
2018-01-29T17:01:57+0000
We had so much fun! We were a group of 7 and it was definitely tough at the beginning and trying to figure out how to gather the first set of clues. Once we all started thinking together it went so much smoother! I loved the challenge of it and the fun at the same time! This was my first escape room and it was WAY more fun than I was expecting! These guys were so friendly and very helpful! I would recommend this place for sure if you are looking for a fun group activity while on vaca! We did the Firefighter room and would def recommend it! I think the next time we are in town I would love to try the other two rooms!
Louis Carrio IV
Louis Carrio IV
2018-01-29T06:51:31+0000
Richard Medlicott
Richard Medlicott
2018-01-28T21:26:41+0000
We were the first paying customers for the new room, Taphophobia. It was an excellent puzzle. As usual you have to work well as a team. No spoilers here, but maybe read up a bit on Edgar Allen-Poe. (You can get the complete works of EAP for 79 cents on kindle... We are all going to read The Gold-Bug) Highly recommended.
Susan S. Ogden
Susan S. Ogden
2018-01-27T05:22:47+0000
We loved it. More challenging and more fun than we ever imagined.
Nicole Jackson
Nicole Jackson
2018-01-26T03:05:06+0000
This place was so fun!!! Definitely would do it again!
Jess Johnson
Jess Johnson
2018-01-25T19:21:15+0000
Me and 5 others from my local summer softball coed team got to experience the new Taphephobia escape puzzle room. It had both the randomness needed like that of a dream, and the order needed to solve the puzzle we were in. Very well done. Great for tourists and locals alike. Go see for yourself i do declare
Kiersten Westhart
Kiersten Westhart
2018-01-22T01:36:51+0000
Husband and I are avid puzzle room fans, and we were so excited to see one here in steamboat. We did the flashover / fire fighter themed room. The production value was great (set design, moving props, even some extra room-themed special effects). The environment was immersive, believable, and puzzles felt well placed and "real". Olivia did an amazing job of helping us through our room, stayed in character while giving help, and seemed genuinely excited for us when we got out. The room set up let us work in parallel so not everyone is working on the same thing (great for groups). There was a good mix of "find the thing" (great for kids) and also more complex puzzles and leaps of logic (good for teens / adults). The mix of technology, different types of locks, physical puzzles, and team-work problem-solving meant we had something exciting and new to look at the entire time (even for relatively seasoned puzzle room players). It was a nice warm diversion during ski vacation, highly recommend.
Courtney Nicole Humphries
Courtney Nicole Humphries
2018-01-18T00:32:40+0000
Jeff Krzyzanowski
Jeff Krzyzanowski
2018-01-18T00:21:15+0000
Malei Tuilimu
Malei Tuilimu
2018-01-17T02:52:04+0000
This was a very unique place. My first time here with some friends and we had a great time!! We'll definitely be back again for the new room next month!!!!!! Also Rob was a great host!
Vicki Howell
Vicki Howell
2018-01-17T01:49:10+0000
The challenging part was tough, but together we had fun and worked great as a team. Definitely going back!!!���
Shaun Bogan
Shaun Bogan
2018-01-14T23:55:55+0000
Didn't think I would enjoy this game but went along with my son, a great time and great people.
Stephen Bogan
Stephen Bogan
2018-01-13T16:36:16+0000
Makenzie Lewalski
Makenzie Lewalski
2018-01-12T05:55:24+0000
Jessica Marie
Jessica Marie
2018-01-10T03:23:24+0000
Great family fun! We have done two of their rooms- both are so creative and engaging! Highly recommend for a group after a day or skiing. Great location to eat downtown after.
Jade Kincaid
Jade Kincaid
2018-01-09T19:38:38+0000
Went with my fiancee for date night! We had a blast figuring out the "Wild West" themed room and would love to try the other room. Also, excited to find out what theme the new room will be.
Crooked Key Escape Rooms
Reviewed from Google

5 out of 5 stars

Brant Beaudry
Brant Beaudry

5 out of 5 stars

posted 4 weeks ago

We visited Steamboat from Montana. While looking for fun things to do in Steamboat, we stumbled upon Crooked Key escape rooms. It was our best experience in town! Very fun and challenging team game (I won’t give any spoilers) but you’ve gotta give it a shot! Make sure you’ve got at least a group of three and be ready for an hour of fun!

Deanna Mathey
Deanna Mathey

5 out of 5 stars

posted 1 month ago

We went there for my son's birthday and brought a few of his friends. The clues were just right. We've been to ones that were impossible and others that were too easy. The Flash Over had us thinking outside the box and working together. It was a blast!! Would definitely go again.

Horse Sense Solutions
Horse Sense Solutions

5 out of 5 stars

posted 4 months ago

My husband and I visited from Breckenridge, CO. The Crooked Key is a family fun place. We signed up for the western themed which was really well put together along with sound effects in the back ground. We had such a fun time, we also decided to do the "fire flash point" themed also. It turned out that we liked that one just as much. It seemed so real with the sound effects, visuals and you can even smell the smoke. From the minute you walk into the beautiful lobby, the staff was awesome and friendly. This is the perfect activity and entertainment for me and my husband. Loved it!!! Everyone that comes to Steamboat Springs needs to plan Crooked Key Escape Rooms in their activities.

Chelsey Burrus
Chelsey Burrus

5 out of 5 stars

posted 3 months ago

Staff was very enthusiastic and friendly! I'd recommend this to anyone traveling through or living in Steamboat. We had an awesome experience. We even went back the next day, so we could play both rooms. Definitely a fun event for a family or group of friends!

Sarah Stinson
Sarah Stinson

5 out of 5 stars

posted 2 months ago

We recently did Flashpoint here- it was so intricate and so well put together! Most of our group had never done an escape room before, but we had a blast, and made it out just in time! I would definitely recommend it. Olivia, our Game Master, was very enthusiastic and wonderful. If you've ever considered doing an Escape Room, do yourself the favor and book at the Crooked Key! We will definitely be back 🙂